Reviews

Excellent clean accommodation - Rating 5/5

This guesthouse is a credit to the owners. Fresh, clean and perfect location. The owner is very friendly, has good knowledge of the local area and even helped one of our guests with car trouble. Nothing was too much. We had to leave at 7 in the morning so he got up extra early to make sure we had breakfast before we left. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone staying in Bournemouth.

Reviewer:Michelle P | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 week ago


Four adults from the Nelson family- Rating 5/5

Real value for tha price. Excellent host excellent very clean and very comfortable premises. Good breakfast to start the day.Easy walking distance from beach and eating places. When again to Bournemouth we will be back. Thank you.

Reviewer:Peter N | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Comfortable Stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts. Good room and breakfast. In good position for walk to beach. Good value for money.

Reviewer:David M | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


A happy stay - Rating 5/5

We were very happy to stay at Southernbay Guest House.Everything was very much to our taste:Room, location, breakfast, hostess etc.We might very well consider to come back some other time.Henrik Bechmann

Reviewer:Henrik B | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Very nice stay - Rating 4/5

The house was spotless. &very comfortable thou we didn’t see a lounge to sit in not that it bothered us.Breakfast was fine thou should have asked for 2 slices of toast.Excellent area, just a short walk into town where there are good eating places &pubs.15 min walk to a lovely beach where there is a really good Italian right on the beach. The walk the the woodland is lovely. This area is definitely worth a visit.

Reviewer:Valerie H | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Great guest house - Rating 5/5

Really nice place - v clean, great Bfast, friendly host

Reviewer:Samantha E | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Great little guest house. - Rating 5/5

We spent two nights at this guesthouse. The bedroom and ensuite was very clean and comfortable.The cooked breakfast was very good.The guesthouse is situated in an excellent location and very easy to get to the beach and pubs/restaurants.Owners very friendly and helpful.Will definitely be staying at Southernhay again.Would recommend!

Reviewer:Claire A | Tue 29th May 2018 | 1 month ago


LovelyB & B - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome, lovely bright room, lovelybreakfastand will be happyto stay there again.

Reviewer:Vincent E | Mon 21st May 2018 | 1 month ago


a great night at the Southernhay - Rating 5/5

My son and I flew down to Bournemouth to attendfootball match and stayed overnight at the Southernhay.The fixture changed dates and Darren and Nelia were great at changing this around for us.We were very well looked after and Darren even gave us a lift to the stadium for the match! Our room was great... bright, clean and well equipped.Breakfast was great and Darren and Nelia were very kind to my young son.Great value, well located and definitely worth a visit.Thank you Darren &Nelia!

Reviewer:Craig j | Fri 20th Apr 2018 | 2 months ago


Our stay at Southernhay, Westbourne/Bournemouth - Rating 5/5

Very nice, clean hotel, hosts pleasant and friendly, would definitely stay again in the future. Highly recommended. Thank You.

Reviewer:STEPHEN B | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


A good place! - Rating 4/5

The location is lovely, right in the heart of Westbourne, away from traffic and crowd but at the same time at 2 min walk distance from everything you need. Rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast is nice and homemade and the owners are two very kind people who go the extra mile to please the customer. Definitely a good place to stay.

Reviewer:Guido A | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Good place to rest your head - Rating 4/5

Stayed while attending a conference at the BIC, Nice distance away wit ha 15 to 20 min walk or a bit longer if you take the scenic route down a chine and along the sea front.Friendly welcome, clean room and basic breakfast as I was always leaving too early too early to be served.

Reviewer:David J | Fri 24th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Southernhay Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is very well run and is clean and tidy. The hosts were friendly and showed excellent customer service throughout our stay. There is ample parking and the facilities including breakfast was very good

Reviewer:peter L | Sun 12th Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


\"Quick Stop\" - Rating 5/5

I am so pleased I stayed there,it was a lovely little Hotel.Clean and comfortable.I will try and stay there when I go to Bournemouth again(on route to Jersey)10/10 til I stay there again.

Reviewer:Travis O | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Pleasant stay in Westbourne- Rating 5/5

Booked late but got an ideal twin room with breakfast in a twin room. Cooked or continental breakfast, was very nice.Shared facilities but we were up early due to our appointment time for a nearby competition.Definitely would stay here again.

Reviewer:Gary F | Mon 17th Jul 2017 | 12 months ago


loved it - Rating 5/5

the location is perfect, parking is handy and Tom and Lynn lovely. Would go again.

Reviewer:Sue O | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable holiday - Rating 5/5

I liked everything about the Southernhay.The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.The proprietors, Tom and Lynn were very helpful giving me knowledge and even maps, suggesting lots of places to visit.I would recommend this B&B, and will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Shirley G | Sun 18th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Long Weekend - Rating 5/5

Very happy with our stay.Lovely room and lovely hosts.Intend returning in the near future.

Reviewer:Miss. Denise K | Wed 22nd Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay. - Rating 5/5

Very nice and clean hotel. Only stayed 1 night as visting a family member.owner was very welcoming and made us feel at home. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.Thank you for a very pleasent stay.

Reviewer:Jeffrey C | Tue 10th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


value for money - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed stay nice rooms liked the en suit bathroom nice breakfast friendly polite and would use again good parking and thank you

Reviewer:Russell C | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Well situated - Rating 4/5

Tom &Lynn looked after us really well.Our room was lovely (overlooking the front of the premises), clean and spacious.Everything we needed was provided, and the hotel was very convenient for the west side of the long sandy beach, and a local high street.Would have liked brown bread for breakfast, but would recommend anyway.

Reviewer:Susan R | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Mr morris - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly atmosphereSplemdid location excellemt breakfast with great care in preparation amd presentation10 min walk through picturesque woodland to suberb beach.

Reviewer:Steven M | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


A very pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

Booked three nights and was kindly given a bigger room as it was me and my mum.Plenty to eat at breakfast, nice friendly proprietors and a beautiful cat!We thought the immediate area was nicer than the centre of Bournemouth but everything was nearby anyway. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Miss. Karina M | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Southernhay hotel - Rating 3/5

Clean and comfortable hotel.Tom and Lynn made us very welcome and we enjoyed our stay there.car parking good although access to property a bit difficult until one gets to know it.

Reviewer:Julia S | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


nice place, nice owners - Rating 4/5

Tom &Lynn were very hospitable and gave us directions etc to local places and a quicker route home!Nice clean rooms + on suite (shower was a bit weak though). and a decent breakfast in the morning.

Reviewer:Dean W | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Feedback- Rating 4/5

I have been there just for two days, and the hotel is like guest house the room was very comfortable and quite, and the people are very welcome and friendly.So can I suggest it also because wasn't no expansive.

Reviewer:Giuseppe P | Sun 5th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night. The Hotel is in a great location for the local beaches and restaurant/shops. The owners are really friendly and the hotel is warm and cosy and has a good car park.

Reviewer:Jeremy S | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


good value for money - Rating 5/5

Good breakfast. Comfortable stay. Good value for money

Reviewer:Poojashri S | Fri 8th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Great hotel for the money - Rating 5/5

Clean hotel with welcoming owners. Resolved a problem to supply my friend with a spare key for access. Good English breakfast, as traditional English b&b as you can get.

Reviewer:Dean E | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Hotel southernhay- Rating 4/5

Room nice and clean and warm breakfast good nice land lady and land lord

Reviewer:Mr. NevilleC | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Hidden gem- Rating 4/5

Lovely small hotel in a quiet location.Room very comfortable and breakfast delicious.Lots of quirky extras including plenty of visits from the resident cat Crystal.

Reviewer:Vincent B | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Title- Rating 5/5

Friendly, clean and tidy, good location-walking distance to beach, tidy hedge and great house cat! Would like an early breakfast (7-8am) but then again I am an early bird! Would highly recommend

Response

Thank-you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay with us and for your positive review. We are sorry that we do not offer an early cooked breakfast, but our dining room is available for early risers to help themselves to a continental breakfast if required.Kind regards.Lynn

Reviewer:Mr. jo m | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


2 nights stay at Southernhay Hotel - Rating 5/5

Easy &straightforward to book. Good communication and excellent service. Only wish I'd had more time to get to know Tom &Lynn, but the brief times I saw them due to other commitments, they were fab hosts and a pleasure to be with. Breakfast was excellent and the room clean &tidy - cannot fault anything relating to my stay. Thank you! :-)

Response

Thank-you so much for your review Shayne.It is really helpful to small businesses, such as ours, to have satisfied guests who take the time to review their stay with us.

Reviewer:Mr. Shayne P | Wed 25th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


A lovely B&B- Rating 5/5

I have just come back from staying at the SouthernHay with my boyfriend for the week. It is a very clean B&B the room was tidy and the breakfast was good value for money. Also it was centeral to the shops,restaurants &Bournemouth beach all of which are only a short walk away.The owners Lyn &Tom were also friendly &helpful. I would reccomend Southernhay &stay here again!

Reviewer:Rebecca D | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Super stay at the Southernhay. - Rating 4/5

A very neat and tidy bed and breakfast with the emphasis being on both! The beds were very comfortable in bedrooms with plenty of space and a shower in the room.In the morning, a full Englisgh breakfast started off the day in fine fashion.We only spent one night but left wishing we could have stayed longer.The parking on site just added to the pleasure.We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:ALAN W | Thu 5th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


The Southernhay. - Rating 4/5

Easy to find with ample parking.Friendly welcome.Good size room,clean and pleasant decoration.Very nice and tasty breakfast.Would come back again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jacqueline O | Sun 25th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

A little basic but excellent value for money. Room clean, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Would stay again

Reviewer:Nicholas S | Mon 12th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Southernhay Hotel - Rating 5/5

Does exactly what it says on the tin, and great value.

Reviewer:Mr. Ronald D | Sat 10th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable with helpful staff. Good breakfast. Good location. Dog friendly and 50 yards to Alum Chine and a nice 10 minute walk to the beach.

Reviewer:Mr. Alex P | Wed 7th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


My opinion- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome on arrival,clean and presentable room,good English breakfast. Very enjoyable stay

Reviewer:Christopher B | Mon 13th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely Time - Rating 5/5

Spent a great weekend at the Southernhay, good location and fantastic breakfast.Would definitely stay there again when down that way.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter H | Tue 30th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Weekend stay - Rating 3/5

This was a nice weekend stay. Theowners were very attentive. The room was nice and clean.The breakfast was very nice and on time.

Reviewer:John K | Mon 15th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Weekend stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely, clean B&B in a nice location. Excellent breakfast all cooked fresh. First time I have stayed here and would definitely recommend and come again

Reviewer:Christine S | Mon 8th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Mr. - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owners , nice quiet room , beach is close , nice breakfast. I recommending to visit this hotel.

Reviewer:Evaldas R | Tue 2nd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Nice clean room, nice food and friendly staff. What more could you ask for??Would definitely stay again..:-)

Reviewer:Barry M | Mon 18th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Very nice hotel :) - Rating 5/5

Room cosy and tidy, bathroom also clean. Great place to stay :)

Reviewer:Katarzyna D | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Very nice hotel :) - Rating 5/5

Room cosy and tidy, bathroom also clean. Great place to stay :)

Reviewer:Katarzyna D | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


our weekend - Rating 3/5

enjoyable stay with comfortable beds,clean&tidy breakfast very nice

Reviewer:Bridget C | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Very good - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and enjoyable. Good size en suite bathroom.Very good breakfast not at all greasy which some full English breakfasts can be.

Reviewer:Mr. David G | Sun 25th May 2014 | 4 years ago


B and B- Rating 5/5

Excellent breakfast and room, friendly owners

Reviewer:Mr. Robert C | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at the clean and tidy b&b. Breakfast was yummy and served quicky allowing us to hit the beach early. It's very close to the beach&plenty of parking for us. Will visit again soon.

Reviewer:Miss. Charlotte A | Mon 17th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


4 Day Break - Rating 4/5

Welcoming Guesthouse. Comfortable room and bed. Hearty breakfast. Enjoyable 4 days.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan M | Sat 14th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much for the lovely stay and your help with cancelling the room that was booked for a wrong date without any issues. The room was clean and tidy. The only remark that I would mention is that the noise early morning was loud, becuase the housekeeping of the vacant rooms started at around 8.30am, which is prior our check out time and distructed our sleep, however we got the opportunity to stay in the room until 11.30 without paying any extra. The hotel also has a lot of useful city brochures, it is also closse by to the beach roughly 10 min walk.Thank you!

Reviewer:Miss. Gelyana G | Mon 8th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Our Bournemouth stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights at the Southernhay Guest House.During this time we were treated very well by Lynn and Tom. The room was large and airy and very clean. The breakfast we enjoyed immensely and although was a full English we never felt bloated at the end of it.Anything we needed to know about the areaTom and Lynn were quite happy to chat about after breakfast. In all we found the couple very friendly and would not hesitate to stay with them again which hopefully will be next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Clive B | Tue 30th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Comfy & convenient - Rating 5/5

cosy small B&B, close to Westbourne centre (shops, buses, restaurants)ver welcoming &friendlyOk with our dog;we worked around the house cats. Good price too.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger L | Mon 8th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy rooms, nice breakfast, quiet, nice restaurants and facilities nearby, easy transport and friendly staff, I will definitely go back.

Reviewer:Mr. Diego Vieites G | Mon 4th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Always Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Traditional hospitality with comfort and excellent food.This was third visit in two years. Immediately after late arrival, we lost our car keys! Tom and Lynne (owners)were due to go out but both searched front drive with torches.When we found car keys in our room,they did not even look irritated. A lovely couple who always make us feel very welcome. our room was, as always clean and comfortable. Nice to walk barefoot on clean carpet.I wish "my"cooked eggs looked as good as theirs. We are both trying to shed weight and the full english breakfast was perfectly cooked, looked HEALTHY and was excellent. A lovely relaxed ethos. We will return soon for a longer stay. THANK YOU.Mrs.J.Park

Reviewer:Mr. Julia P | Tue 20th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Southernhay Westbourne - Rating 3/5

we booked the Southernhay as our usual hotel was fully booked. £50 for a double with en-suite and cooked breakfast for 2 is hard to beat. Good value guest house for a short stay with plenty of parking spaces.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve S | Mon 12th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


clarkes review - Rating 4/5

hotel difficult to find at first ,but thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay ,room was comfortable ,clean ;breakfast good

Reviewer:Mr. Albert C | Sun 21st Oct 2012 | 5 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian

Contact Details

Southernhay Guest House
42 Alum Chine Road
Bournemouth
Westbourne
Dorset
BH4 8DX
01202 761 251
01202 761 251
enquiries@southernhayhotel.co.uk